Rodent Control

Rats and mice are the most destructive vertebrates on Earth: they destroy or contaminate large volumes of crops worldwide each year. These rodents may cause fires by chewing and damaging electrical wiring causing major damage to barn structure & insulation.

 

HEALTH HAZARDS

Rats and mice are responsible for the spread of numerous diseases. Rodents contaminate feed supplies with viruses and bacteria that are detrimental to the health of your livestock. Therefore, a rodent control program is of primary importance to prevent infestations.

 

ECONOMICAL FACTORS

Rodent infestations cause damage to buildings. Holes, walls and insulation material have to be repaired or replaced: Rodents gnaw on these materials to grind down their continuously growing teeth.

 

Rodent infestation adds stress to your livestock, resulting in decreased production. Rodents consume your feed supplies.

 

For example, a single Norway rat can eat up to 11 kg (24 lb) of feed in a year.

 

THE KEY IS CONSISTENCY

To have a good rodent control program, consistency is important to prevent infestation. Well-attended bait stations and devices will keep your farm buildings less attractive to rodents seeking feed and nesting for reproduction.

Vetocontact

Access restricted to veterinarians 

Login

C&D Quiz

Contrôle des rongeurs

Les rats et les souris sont les vertébrés les plus destructeurs sur terre: ils détruisent ou contaminent chaque année un volume important des récoltes mondiales. En mastiquant les fils électriques, les rats et les souris peuvent provoquer des incendies, causant ainsi des dommages importants aux structures et à l’isolation des bâtiments.

 

RISQUES POUR LA SANTÉ

Les rats et les souris sont responsables de la propagation de plusieurs maladies. Ils consomment et contaminent la moulée avec des bactéries et des virus qui sont nocifs pour la santé de vos animaux. Un programme de contrôle des rongeurs est donc primordial afin de prévenir les infestations.

 

FACTEURS ÉCONOMIQUES

Les infestations de rongeurs peuvent causer de sérieux dommages aux bâtiments. Les trous, les murs et le matériel isolant doivent être réparés ou remplacés. La croissance continue de leurs dents incite les rongeurs à gruger toutes sortes de matériaux.

 

Les infestations de rongeurs ajoutent un stress au bétail, ce qui peut ultimement diminuer la production. Les rongeurs mangent et contaminent vos réserves de nourriture.

 

Par exemple, un seul rat de Normandie peut consommer jusqu’à 11 kg (24 lb) de moulée en une année.

 

LA CONSTANCE EST LA CLÉ

La constance est la clé d'un bon programme de contrôle des rongeurs. Des stations d’appâts et des pièges bien entretenus rendent vos bâtiments de ferme moins attrayants comme lieu d'habitation et de reproduction pour les rongeurs.

Vetocontact

Accès réservé aux vétérinaires 

Connexion

Questionnaire